Autumn in Geneva

Ahhh… It gives me such a sense of achievement to post a new painting 🙂

Every painting is a lot of work and when it’s done, I’m excited because I can show it to you and I can move on to the next project. Exactly 8 days ago, my fiancé and I spent the day in Geneva. We visited the Patek Philippe museum and walked around the old town. I took photos of some of the gorgeous old houses there and immediately started painting this one when we got home. I love the autumn leaves framing the house and decided to accent them with some fake gold plating… what better way to bring autumn’s golden light into a painting?!

Some more pictures of the painting in a frame:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I know some of you like to see how a painting progresses from start to finish, so here’s a short slideshow of the process. I always start out by drawing the complicated parts of the image in pencil. In this case, that was mainly the house and the window details. Usually, when using acrylic paint one should start with the dark colours and finish with the highlights, however, especially when painting houses and landscapes I like to start painting whatever is the furthest in the background first. Basically, I try to paint it like reality made it… I hope that makes sense to you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

‘Autumn…. the year’s last loveliest smile’ – W. Cullen Bryant

Leave a Reply

