new painting! ‘Wisteria in Lutry’

‘Wisteria in Lutry’ was painted from a photo I took in a nearby village called Lutry. These little village houses overlook the lake and are surely some of the most beautiful homes around here! I would certainly love to live in one!

They have pretty little gardens in front and lots and lots of wisteria. I love wisteria and its pretty colours!

 

This is actually an acrylic painting on thick watercolour paper. The sheet of paper measures 28 x 37 cm (11″ x 15″) and the painting itself measures 21 x 21 cm (8″ x 8″).

If you are interested in the process of this painting, take a look at following slideshow! I started off drawing a rough sketch with pencil. Then I painted the background wall colour, the shadows and then the details. I painted the plants last and they were the most challenging since I have very little practice painting plants! Well, luckily I didn’t mess it up and it all turned out well.

So well actually that I have decided to keep the original. However, I will be selling prints soon… I’m getting an amazing printer in two weeks time… can’t wait!

What do you think? Could this be the prettiest village on earth?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

